Mixed Signals

I live in a place and time where girls don’t (more like shouldn’t) make advances on boys.

It’s not very lady-like , they say.

Instead give him hints.

Nothing too direct, otherwise you’ll come off as aggressive.

He may find that offensive.

Now you don’t want to bruise his ego.

So send him mixed signals.

Yes, no, maybe.

Hoping he sees your little signs.

Or is good at reading between the lines.

You know the “I hope you had a good day ”

And “have you eaten? ” kind of lines.

You better pray he speaks ‘girl’

Where “you’re so funny ” could also mean “I really like you ”

And “we should hang out more ” probably means “date me please”

Until I can spell it out, I will keep sending these emojis.

And hope you can decipher code.

~NGUNJIRIwithWORDS

7 thoughts on “Mixed Signals”

Leave a comment